Welcome, welcome! Come in and register, and have some developer coffee. 👨‍💻 ×

[Node.js] Upload Image To Instagram From Your PC Under 10 Lines of Code

Sup, GG fams!

If you use Instagram, you probably already know that they only provide and allow media uploads on mobiles (REDIKULUS I KNOW!!!). 

Today, we'll be trying out an unofficial Instagram API provider, Tools-for-Instagram. They claim to have an AI that can help reduce the risk of ban. You probably want to test it out on an useless account to keep your main account safe!

Aaaaaaand here's the good news. I've been using their API since Nov 2020, and I'm now at my 1107th memes with 0 bans (including soft ban).

image.png

That stats aren't that great though. I'm assuming high chance it's because of the set of hash tags used. I have been putting it to run automatically since Nov 2020 to post on every hour.

Alright, here's how you can create the uploader:

Requirement

In this tutorial, we'll assume that you already know how to create a node script, so let's start by installing the library. Run the following command in your project folder:

npm install tools-for-instagram

Next you'll need to create a .env file in your root folder and paste in the following.

IG_USERNAME=USERNAME
IG_PASSWORD=PASSWORD
#ONLINE_MODE=true
#IG_PROXY=http://proxyuser:[email protected]:xxxxx
#IG_VERIFICATION=sms
#IG_VERIFICATION=email
#IG_VERIFICATION=otp

Replace username and password with your IG username and password.

Create an self-executing async function in your index.js and perform login.

require("tools-for-instagram");

(async () => {
  const ig = await login();
})();

There are several ways that you can upload you images. To upload a single image with an image URL, use the uploadPictureByUrl api:

(async () => {
  const ig = await login(); //Perform login
  const caption = "Some random meme. #meme"; //Image caption